James Duncan Mackenzie Collection is the first tune book James has released and features 70 of his own compositions.

The James Duncan Mackenzie Collection, released December 2021, features 52 pipe tunes, including the likes of Smelling Fresh and Willie Bucach Macleod of Stornoway, and 18 tunes that go outside of the pipe range, including Sròmos from his second album.

Many of James’ tunes have been played by other musicians and bands around the world including Field Marshal Montgomery Pipe Band who included his composition, Smelling Fresh, in their World Championship winning medley one year. 

James said: “I’m delighted to release my debut sheet music collection. It’s made up of many of the tunes I’ve written over the last 15 years or so. I’ve really enjoyed attempting to write tunes over the years and have taken inspiration from people and places all over the world. It’s great to hear other people picking up some of my tunes and playing them in their own style. I hope the tunes in the book will cater to a diverse range of pipers and other instrumentalists and hope people will find something that they enjoy playing.”

The collection also includes tunes from James’ forthcoming solo album which is due for release in early 2022.

Front cover photo by Murdo Macleod.