Breabach piper and flautist James Duncan Mackenzie, from the Isle of Lewis, launches his second solo album Sròmos, named after an abandoned settlement on the banks of Loch Seaforth and one of many townships cleared in the 19th century to prioritise land for sheep farming and deer forests. The album consists entirely of self-penned melodies, led by wooden flute and Highland pipes with accompaniment from an array of acoustic and electric instruments.
Released February 12, 2018

James Duncan Mackenzie: Highland Bagpipes, Border Pipes, Wooden Flutes
John Lowrie: Drums, Percussion, Piano, Rhodes Piano, Harmonium
Allan Nairn: Electric Guitar, Melodeon, Banjo
Innes White: Acoustic guitar, Mandolin
James Lindsay: Bass
Alasdair White: Fiddle
Jack Smedley: Fiddle

All tunes composed by James Duncan Mackenzie.

Produced by James Duncan Mackenzie and John Lowrie
Recorded and mixed by Iain Hutchison at Gloworm studios, Glasgow
Mastered by Michael Fossenkemper at Turtletone studios, New York
Photographs by Seán Purser and Dan Froese
Design by James Morrison